“Hallelujah” is a Queer Anthem

Leonard Cohen’s famous tune screams queer love.

Kristen Pizzo
3 min readJul 11, 2020
Photo by Josh Appel on Unsplash

Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah,” made famous by Jeff Buckley’s cover and later Rufus Wainwright’s version in Dreamworks’ Shrek, has been subjected to a variety of interpretations.

When taking the lyrics at face value, one might say it is about religious faith, but Buckley claimed it was about “the hallelujah of the orgasm.”

I have always loved the song. I learned it back in my piano-playing days and probably annoyed my family with how much I played it. Since coming out as bisexual and finding myself in a queer relationship, it has taken on a new meaning.

To me, “Hallelujah,” is a queer anthem.

The line “Your faith was strong but you needed proof. You saw her bathing on the roof,” illustrates one’s discovery of their sexuality.

And:

“And I’ve seen your flag on the marble arch

And love is not a victory march.

It’s a cold and it’s a broken Hallelujah”

This is the most telling line.

Pride is now branded with the “love is love” slogan and characterized by glitter and partying, but it began in a very violent way when people at the Stonewall bar…

--

--

Kristen Pizzo

mental health | LGBTQ+ | culture | food | ethical shopping