The Problem with Saying Consent is “Sexy”

Kristen Pizzo
4 min readApr 29, 2019

This semester, I have acted in two plays that highlighted stories of sexual violence and gave victims a voice. It would be easy to sit back now and think I met some sort of “activism quota” for the year and that I can slip back into the shadows and pretend there’s no more to say on the subject. We tend to do that a lot with social issues. We set aside a month or day out of the year or wait until something bad happens to remind us about the issue and then we talk and talk and talk…and then fall silent. So this is me doing my best not to do that.

April 24 was one of those special days in which we are asked to think more about sexual assault. It was Denim Day, an annual event inspired by a 1998 rape trial where it was ruled that a young woman’s tight jeans implied consent because there was allegedly no way anyone could have removed such an article of clothing without help from the person wearing them. I decided to take a photo with my university’s victim advocacy group to spread awareness. I was offered a pin to wear. I chose one that read “Consent is (the word “sexy” crossed out) mandatory.” I was drawn to it because I have seen “consent is sexy” thrown around as a form of cutesy activism, and it is, as the button and many people have pointed out, so problematic. The saying perpetuates this crazy idea some people have that consent is this “new” thing people didn’t have to…

--

--

Kristen Pizzo

mental health | LGBTQ+ | culture | food | ethical shopping